Skip to content

Click in-app to access the full platform documentation for your version of DataRobot.

Manage groups

Availability information

Required permission: “Org Admin”

Create a group

Follow these steps to create a group:

  1. Expand the profile icon located in the upper right and click APP ADMIN > Groups. The displayed page lists all existing groups. From here you create, search, delete, and perform actions on one or more groups.

  2. Click Create a group.

  3. On the resulting page, enter a name and, optionally, description for the group.

  4. When the information is complete, click Create a group. The new group appears in the Manage Groups listing, including parent organization (enterprise only), number of members, and group description.

Add users to a group

Once a group is created, you add and remove one or more users from the Manage Groups page. (After you configure a user's profile, you can also add or remove individuals from groups through their profile Membership page.)

To add users through Manage Groups:

  1. Open the Manage Groups > All Groups page. From the list of configured groups, click to select the group to add the user to.

  2. When the profile opens, select Members to see all members in this group.

  3. Click Add a user.

  4. From the displayed page, type any part of the name of a user to add. As you type, DataRobot shows usernames containing those characters:

  5. Select one or more users to add to the group. When done, click Add users.

The Members list for the group updates to show all members and information for each, including first name, last name, organization (if any), and status (active/inactive in DataRobot).

Delete groups

You can delete one or more groups at a time. This removes the group profile only; members of that group continue to have access to DataRobot. Any projects shared with the deleted group are no longer shared with any users for that group. (If needed, re-share projects with individual users.)

  1. View the Groups page and do one of the following:

    • If you want to delete a single group—locate the group, select the Actions menu, and click Delete.
    • If you want to delete multiple groups—select the check boxes for those groups (or select the check box next to the Groups heading), click Menu, and then select Delete selected.

  2. In the displayed Confirm Delete window, click Delete group(s). Deleted groups are removed from the list of groups.

Configure group permissions

You can configure permissions and apply them to all users in an existing group in addition to managing each user individually. This allows for easier tracking and management of permissions for larger groups.

Note

Note that a user's effective permissions are the union of those granted to their organization, any user groups they are a member of, and permissions granted to the user directly. A user who is added to a group obtains all permissions of that group. A user who is removed from a group does not maintain any permissions that were granted to them by that group. However, a user may still have the permissions granted by that group if the organization they belong to also grants those permissions.

  1. To configure permissions for a group, select it from the Groups page and navigate to the Permissions tab.

  2. The Permissions tab displays the premium products, optional products, public preview features, and admin settings available for configuration for your group. Select the desired permissions to grant your group from the list.

  3. When you have finished selecting the desired permissions for your group, click Save Changes.

Once saved, all existing users in your group and those added to it in the future are granted the configured permissions. A user can view their permissions on the Settings page. Hover over a permission to see what group(s) or organization(s) enabled it.

RBAC for groups

Role-based access (RBAC) controls access to the DataRobot application by assigning users roles with designated privileges. The assigned role controls both what the user sees when using the application and which objects they have access to. RBAC is additive, so a user's permissions will be the sum of all permissions set at the user and group level.

Assign a default role for group members in a group's Group Permissions page:

Review the role and access definitions to understand the permissions enabled for each role.

Note

Note that RBAC overrides sharing-based role permissions. For example, consider a group member is assigned the Viewer role via RBAC, which only has Read access to objects. If this group member has a project shared with them that grants Owner permissions (which offers Read and Write access), the Viewer role takes priority and denies the user Write access.


Updated September 2, 2021
Back to top