Skip to content

Click in-app to access the full platform documentation for your version of DataRobot.

Permanently delete users

Availability information

The ability to permanently delete users, available as a public preview feature, is off by default. Contact your DataRobot representative or administrator for information on enabling the feature.

Feature flag: Enable Permanent Deletion of Users

Administrators can now permanently delete DataRobot users through the platform's interface—previously only available using a script—as well as any projects and deployments they owned.

Deleting a user also deletes any projects or deployments owned by that user. However, if an asset is left without an owner (orphaned) but other users have read or write access to it, DataRobot provides the option to assign a new owner.

Once users are scheduled for deletion, DataRobot analyzes the request and generates a user deletion preview, giving you a chance to review how many users and assets will be deleted. You must review the user deletion report and confirm that the information is correct before DataRobot deletes the specified users.

Deleted users are not immediately removed from the system. Instead, they are marked for deletion and grayed out, allowing admins to view these users but not activate them.

Scheduled for deletion state

Note

If an error occurs during account deletion and it is not resolved within 24 hours, DataRobot reactivates the user's account.

Delete users

You can delete users in the Users tab, which displays the entire user list, or the Organization tab, which allows you to select an organization and view its member list.

Note

You cannot delete active DataRobot users. To change a user's status, select the user(s) you'd like to deactivate, click Menu and select Disable users.

  1. Go to User Settings > Users.

  2. Select the box next to each user you'd like to delete and click Menu > Delete selected.

    Delete from user list

You can also select a specific user and click Delete user at the bottom of their profile.

Delete from user profile

  1. Go to User Settings > Organizations and select an organization.

  2. Select the box next to each user you'd like to delete and click Menu > Delete selected.

    Delete organization members

Set user asset handling

The Set user asset handling window allows you to decide how to handle the user's assets after deletion.

User asset handling window

From this window, you can do the following:

Option Description
New owner for orphaned projects and deployments If you want to delete the only owner of a project or deployment and other users have read or write access to the asset, you can assign a new owner to the asset.
Force delete projects deleted users have access to Select to delete all projects the user has owner access to, including projects that have other users with read, write, or owner access.
Force delete deployments deleted users have access to Select to delete all deployments the user has owner access to, including deployments that have other users with read, write, or owner access.
Examples of user asset handling

Scenario: You are deleting user1.

  • user1 has owner access to two projects: p1 and p2

    • user2 also has owner access to p2
  • user1 has owner access to three deployments: d1, d2, and d3

    • user2 also has owner to d2
    • user3 and user4 have read access to d3

The table below describes how DataRobot handles these assets using each of the options in the Set user asset handling window:

New owner assigned Force delete projects Force delete deployments Result
Error: d3 canot be deleted because user3 and user4 have read access. Nothing is deleted.
Error: d3 canot be deleted because user3 and user4 have read access. Nothing is deleted.
Deleted: d1, d2 (forced), d3 (forced), p1, user1
Not deleted: p2 (still has an owner)
Deleted: d1, d2 (forced), d3 (forced), p1, p2 (forced), user1
Deleted: d1, p1, user1
Not deleted: d2 (still has an owner), d3 (receives new owner), p1 (still has owner)
Deleted: d1, p1, p2 (forced), user1
Not deleted: d2 (still has an owner), d3 (receives new owner)
Deleted: d1, d2 (forced), d3 (forced), p1, p2 (forced), user1
Not deleted: p2 (still has an owner)
Deleted: d1, d2 (forced), d3 (forced) p1, p2 (forced), user1

When you finish making selections, click Continue. DataRobot begins analyzing the deletion request and building the user deletion preview.

Notifications

Once the user deletion analysis begins, notifications appear at the top of the page.

User deletion notification

You can monitor the progress of the user deletion analysis and open the user deletion preview in the Notification Center.

  1. Click the icon and select View notifications.

  2. To view the user deletion preview and download a report, click a notification for the user deletion analysis.

You can view the preview regardless of the status of the user deletion analysis, however, the status affects how much information the preview and report display.

User deletion preview

The user deletion preview provides a high-level overview of what happens when the users are deleted—how many users, projects, and deployments can and cannot be deleted. If you assigned a new owner in the Set user asset handling window, the preview includes their email address and how many assets will be assigned to them.

User deletion preview

The message displayed at the top of the preview reflects the status of the user deletion preview. The table below describes each message:

Message Description
DataRobot has completed the analysis of the users selected for deletion The deletion analysis is complete. Review the user deletion preview before proceeding with user deletion.
Deletion of selected users is not complete The results displayed in the preview are incomplete and update as the analysis progresses. Admins can download an incomplete extended preview report, however, users are not deleted until the deletion analysis completes and the admin clicks Delete.
DataRobot was not able to analyze the users you selected for deletion The deletion analysis failed. Download the extended preview report for more details.

After DataRobot is done analyzing the users selected for deletion, review the full user deletion preview and report. To finish the user deletion, select the box confirming that you've reviewed the report and click Delete.

User deletion summary

After proceeding with user deletion, you can access the user deletion summary by opening the Notifcation Center and clicking a notification.

Unlike the user deletion preview, this is a high-level overview of what occurred during user deletion—how many users, projects, and deployments were or were not deleted. If you assigned a new owner in the Set user asset handling window, the summary includes their email address and how many assets are now assigned to them.

User deletion summary

The message displayed at the top of the preview reflects the status of the user deletion. The table below describes each message:

Message Description
The selected users have been successfully deleted The deletion is complete. Download and review the report for a complete list of deleted users and assets.
Deletion of the selected users is not complete The results displayed in the summary are incomplete and will update as the deletion progresses. Admins can download an incomplete extended summary report.
Requested deletion was not completely successful The user deletion failed. Download the extended summary report for more details.

After DataRobot deletes the users, review the full user deletion summary and report.


Updated October 26, 2021
Back to top