Skip to content

Click in-app to access the full platform documentation for your version of DataRobot.

Manage deployments

On the Deployments page, you can manage deployments using the actions menu:

The available options depend on a variety of criteria, including user permissions and the data available to your deployment. The table below briefly describes each option.

Option Description Availability
Replace model Changes out the current model in the deployment with a newly specified model. Owner
Settings Configures various settings for the deployment. Track target and feature drift in a deployment and activate additional features: prediction row storage, challenger models, and segmented analysis. Enabling data drift learning and inference data. Owner
Share Provides sharing capabilities independent of project permissions. User, Owner
Create Application Launches a DataRobot application of your choice using the deployed model. Owner
Activate / Deactivate Enables or disables a deployment's monitoring and prediction request capabilities. Owner
Get Scoring Code Downloads Scoring Code (in JAR format) directly from the deployment. This action is only available for models that support Scoring Code. User, Consumer, Owner
Delete Removes a deployment from the inventory. Owner

Access the actions menu in one of these locations:

  1. To the right of each deployment:

  2. On the Overview tab:

Replace a model

Prediction accuracy tends to degrade over time (which you can track in the Data Drift dashboard as conditions and data change. If you have the correct permissions, you can easily switch over to a new, better adapted model using the model replacement action. You can then incorporate the new model predictions into downstream applications. This action initiates an email notification.

Share a deployment

The sharing capability allows appropriate user roles to grant permissions on a deployment, independent of the project that created the deployed model. This is useful, for example, when the model creator regularly refreshes the model and wants the people using it to have access to the updated predictions but not to the model itself.

To share a deployment, select the Share () action. Enter the email address of the person you would like to share the deployment with, select their role, and click Share. You can later change the user's permissions by clicking on the current permission and selecting a new access level from the dropdown.

This action initiates an email notification.

Additionally, deployment Owners and Users can share with groups and organizations. Select either the Groups or Organizations tab in the sharing modal.

Enter the group or organization name in the Share With field, determine the role for permissions, and click Share. The deployment is shared with—and the role is applied to—every member of the designated group or organization. Additionally, deployment Owners and Users can share with groups and organizations (up to their own access level).

Delete a deployment

If you have the appropriate permissions, you can delete a deployment from the inventory by clicking the trash can icon . This action initiates an email notification to all users with sharing privileges to the deployment.

Activate a deployment

Deployments have capabilities, such as prediction requests and data monitoring, that consume a large amount of resources. You may want to test the prediction experience for a model or experiment with monitoring output settings without expending any resources or risking a production outage. Deployment activation allows you to control when these resource-intensive capabilities are enabled for individual deployments. Additionally, note that inactive deployments do not count towards your deployment limit.

Availability information

Inactive deployment behavior depends on the pricing plan for your organization.

A deployment's Owner can activate its prediction requests and some monitoring capabilities. From the Actions menu for a deployment, select Activate.

When created, a deployment is set to the active state by default; use the Actions menu to deactivate it. Once deactivated, you can still browse the deployment's monitoring tabs and edit its settings and metadata, but you cannot make predictions. Inactive deployments are indicated by an "INACTIVE" label in the deployment inventory:

You can monitor the current number of active and inactive deployments from the tile at the top of the inventory:

Deployment email notifications

The following actions initiate an email notification. Availability of actions are dependent on each user's role. Additional notifications are available through the Notifications option of the Settings tab.

Deployment Sharing

When you share a deployment with a user, the recipient receives an email, notifying them that permission has been granted. Email is only sent on initial invite, not if permission levels have changed or been revoked. If the receiving user has the Consumer role on the deployment, the email will contain a deployment ID. Otherwise, for Users and Owners, the email will contain a link to view the deployment.

Model Replacement

If a user with the appropriate role replaces a model within a deployment, DataRobot sends an email to all other users with roles of Owner or User notifying them of the replacement.

Deployment Deletion

When a user with the appropriate permission deletes a deployment, DataRobot sends a notifying email containing the deployment ID to all other subscribed users (all roles).


Updated January 7, 2022
Back to top